Some details on the writer of this blog

One of the things I’ve enjoyed most about blogging is learning about other bloggers and their lives. I enjoy seeing everyone’s photographs and wondering: what would it be like to hit the road and travel around Peru? Russia? Mongolia? Costa Rica? Mexico? Greece? India? Pakistan? Indonesia? Denmark? Australia? Romania?

I wonder what it would be like to live in a place where bananas grow everywhere!

I’m completely inspired by how some bloggers are able to communicate the story of their lives. Even through their pain, they are making art with every entry. I want to be that good. You really inspire me.

And then there are the artists. The ones who are working hard and drawing and posting their work. There is something about visual art that is so inspiring. It makes me happy.

And then, best of all. So many bloggers actually read other people’s blogs and think about them, and comment on them. And well, you guys are the heart of our community. I have told countless friends about my blog and only the ones who have stalking tendencies have read anything I’ve written, all in secret of course—never a comment, never any communication—and I suspect, with lots of judgment.

I told a “friend” at work: hey, look! I have followers. Strangers I don’t even know are willing to let my thoughts show up in their Feeder. Literature isn’t dead. People do still read!

And she says: how many followers? Are they real people?

It has been an odd revelation to me that even though I have worried about the risks of sharing too  much about myself online, that really, even if I posted everything conceivable, that these details would continue to exist in relative anonymity.

The balance between revealing enough and not too much is difficult to learn, but it’s been fun trying.

Thanks and happy reading!!

9 thoughts on “Some details on the writer of this blog

  1. Guess I’m a stalker/reader. A hint about what it’s like to live in a country where fruit grows on trees, free for the picking. Limons are wonderful…cooking the fish that a guy brings to our door, fresh off the boat, we can go out and shake tart, little limons off the tree outside, but, always watch where you sit when at a new beach…coconuts are heavy and hard, and when they fall they make quite a thump. That thump would cause quite a bump if it landed on a head or other body part.
    Later…

    Like

    1. That sounds amazing, and fun! I was just thinking this morning about how much I love gardening and spring. I have some tulips that are trying to grow, and garlic, and I’m so excited for winter to end.

      You’re totally not a stalker. 🙂

      Stalkers are people who never ever say anything. They linger about and judge. They never share anything of themselves.

      Cheers!

      Like

  2. I often wonder the same thing… am I over-sharing about my life on the internet? I mean there are a lot of crazies out there on the big scary world-wide-web. But then, every now and then, you connect and read the material of another blogger and realise, that just because of a few (many) crazies, that shouldn’t stop and scare us from the good connections to be had. 😉

    Thanks for reading my blog, and also for sharing your life too!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment. I figure as long as I’m not sharing my address and phone number. Plus anyone would have to be pretty motivated to find me as I live in the middle of nowhere. (And no one could ever keep up with you, climbing the mountains of Peru!) 🙂

      Hasta luego. Qué tenga un viaje divertido!

      Like

      1. I totally shared my address…well…my PO box anyway. I want someone to write me letters. No one writes letters anymore. I don’t worry about the stalkers, like you said, they don’t ever comment or anything anyway.

        Like

  3. My blog is mostly for me, if anyone else gets something out of what I write, so much the better. So I don’t put much effort into publicizing it. I do enjoy reading about your perspective and the books you enjoy.

    Like

    1. I think the most important thing is to enjoy what you’re doing. For me, it’s fun to have the writer/reader relationship. I’ve been “writing for the void” so long that once some interaction started, I liked it and found that it informed what I was doing.

      Looking forward to reading more of your blog.

      Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

