NaNoWriMo Day 7: What day is it?

This is a "thought bubble". It is an...
This is a “thought bubble”. It is an illustration depicting thought. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Seven days into NaNoWriMo and I have lost a day. Today is Thursday! I thought it was Wednesday.

A few things could explain this. First, I am up at 3 a.m.—again. Wide awake, but am I really? I’ve heard of sleep texting. Maybe I’m writing a novel in my sleep. Seems like that would be so much easier.

I haven’t read through anything that I’ve written so far. This is not my style. I am a compulsive writer/reader/rewriter. But at least for now, I’m spilling it. Whatever it is.

I do have some general ideas of what I’m trying to do. I have several characters that I’m writing about, and there are places they need to be and things they need to do, but once I start typing, if they’re in the bar, but they don’t want to be, they can be wherever I glimpse them. I am a wee bit worried about getting stuck, but it hasn’t happened yet.

So the thought that’s bothering me today. In Anne Lamont’s book, Bird By Bird, she tells about a difficult writing time. She has written a book and her publisher has given her the feedback that it needs serious work and they don’t think it can be saved. Their advice was to chuck it and start over.

Anne is understandably upset and maybe even out of her mind with stress and anguish. So what does she do next?

She takes a month off and goes somewhere to relax.

WHAAAAAATTTTT?

Maybe I read this wrong. This is a friend’s book and I had to give it back. Sure I have a house and a mortgage, but I don’t pay that much more for it than I would pay for rent. My bills are not horrible. But I do have a job and the bills do need to be paid. I don’t see just up and taking a month off. Well, not unless I sold the house and quit the job. And then I would soon have other problems. Who, at 27 years old, just takes a month off? I want to know this secret.

There is a nearby monastery in Idaho that I would like to go relax at. You can just go sit there and be at peace for a while. I’m not sure I need a whole month, but maybe. I wouldn’t rule it out.

To get my word count in (1667 words is proving to be difficult), I have been writing in shifts. I write for about an hour or more in the morning, not until I hate it, just until the ideas or energy dries up; then I write for about an hour in the evening. I think that’s going to be the plan for the rest of the competition.

Happy Thursday!

Just remember, it’s not Wednesday. I checked.

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 7: What day is it?

Leave a Reply

