NaNoWriMo Day 10: Another fit of nocturnal writing

Even though I have banished the evil whisperings of my internal critic, every day I am plagued with the same fear: Will I have anything to add today?

One way I attempted to conquer this was to draw a picture of all of the elements of my novel. This gave me a little perspective and convinced me that I have enough going on that can be developed in various ways. It also helped me visualize what’s going on so far. So I think the potential is there. I just have to identify how and where to develop and add. And to be careful not to rule things out that present themselves. This is  like a huge writing improv, where the rule is to always say “yes.”

I love what Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love, had to say about creativity in her TED Talk. So instead of me rambling on, I think you’ll enjoy listening to her.

http://www.ted.com/talks/elizabeth_gilbert_on_genius.html

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

