NaNoWriMo Day 15: It might be time to break out the flashcards

The Fool
The Fool (Photo credit: ξωαŋ ThΦt (slowly back…))

Organization and structure now appear to be major problems. At 18,000 words, I’m loosing control of the scope of the project.

Things that have worked well include:

  • Setting up Heading Styles in Microsoft Word
  • Writing down all the plot points I could think of, condensed to one sentence, and in any order that came to mind.
  • Writing a description of each of my characters, what they want, and how they interact with each other.

Things that have NOT worked well include:

  • Buying Dramatica Pro (although this software is full of storywriting information, I find its interface unappealing and annoying, and it’s freaking me out!)
  • My own bad attitude. (My inner critic and I are in a battle royal.)

Solutions for today:

  • Put it all on index cards and organize my thoughts.
  • There is a free iPhone app called Index Cards. I’m going to check it out too.

I’m doing ok. You’ll know I’m really in trouble when I start drawing pictures.

Happy halfway point!

Only fools trip on what’s behind them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

