NaNoWriMo Day 18: RIP Doris Lessing

There is some sad news for us today. British author Doris Lessing died at age 94 in London. I remember when she won the Nobel Prize for Literature back in 2007. I was in graduate school and was entertaining the possibility of creating a career as a writer. I searched for her book The Golden Notebook, but it was sold out everywhere. Now it sits on my shelf, and I still have not read it.

Doris Lessing was an interesting woman. I’m sure she didn’t have any trouble knocking out 1667  words a day because during her life she amassed a substantial body of work.

Here is a link to the BBC article: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-24979129

I’m sad to say I have not read a lot of Doris, but what I have read I found to be truthful and original. And that’s the best praise I could give to any author.

 

 

Leave a Reply

