The only trouble with writing a travel blog for $5K per month

Is that I’m not traveling!!!!!

I just read an article about how easy it was to blog and make money. They said that although there are so many blogs out there, hardly any bloggers were using their blogs to make money. They concluded that the competition really isn’t that fierce.

Then they went on with a very nice descriptive post of how to write a travel blog to make money.

As many of us have already figured out, the deal is to get ads posted on your site and you get the money when people click on the ad from your site.

Easy, right?

So, ok, I’m not traveling. I could write about something else that would lend itself to ads so that someone would read my content and then click on the ad.

First of all that kind of makes me want to wretch.

But, hold on. We all buy stuff. Most of us like to buy stuff. I write about stories and books. Seems like that would lend itself to adding ads on where you can buy whatever book or story I’m writing about.

Spoiler alert: I’m going to love everything I read. 😉

And, you’ve got to have a mission:

Such as: I’m on a mission to help writers grow their income.

Or: I’m on a mission to help you realize your life’s dream.

So what’s my mission? Not as good as these.

 

I’m on a mission to cure my husband’s brain.

I’m on a mission to put food on my table and keep a roof over my head.

I’m on a mission to make traveling easier for ME. (I mean who am I kidding?)

In fact, most of my missions are pretty self centered.

I’m on a mission to amuse myself, and maybe you, by grousing this morning.

When I started this blog, I was on a mission to prove that I wasn’t some idiot who had never read a book.

I’m on a mission to find readers to commiserate with.

I’m on a mission to learn Spanish really well.

I’m on a mission to learn Russian. This might not count because I’m rather ambivalent about it.

I’m on a mission to figure out the secret to learning languages quickly, painlessly, and have fun while doing it.

I’m on a mission to get myself a house in the country.

I’m on a mission to have fun.

I’m on a mission to find more free time.

I’m on a mission to enjoy life.

I’m on a mission to find ways to eat good, healthy, non processed food.

I’m on a mission to improve my piano skills.

I’m on a mission to get through the next week without going crazy.

Articles:

Can you really make money by starting a blog?  Posted on WiseBread.com

How I make 5,000 a month as a paid blogger

Travel Writers: 37 publishers who pay

How to Start a Travel Blog and Earn Money in 6 Months

15 blogs that will help you make money off your writing

Make money blogging: 20 lessons…

Of course, I my hero Dan Carlin does something similar. He does two podcasts, one about history and the other about current events as he sees them, and I’ve never in my life seen so many links to Amazon. But then it makes sense. He reads A LOT! Like I said, my hero.

I dunno. I feel like I should be doing more with this. At the very least putting in more of an effort. But it takes time to accomplish my goal of not going crazy each week.

Leave a Reply

