In the end

It will come down to this

We were the best of friends

You were there for me

I was there for you

Little things like amnesia

won’t matter

The others weed themselves out like that

They weren’t there

They didn’t stick it out

But you, my friend

you followed me around

you did your part

you held me through the waves of my breaking heart

so that now when I face the deep chasm of the abyss

the end of dreams and hope

a life closing in

I am here for you

Even though I am afraid

of this dark thing

this rage against the dying of the light

I will always be your friend

And the path is clear

ignore the worst

remember the best

It’s easy to know what to do

I will sit with you

and remind myself

I know enough

to make you smile.

Leave a Reply

